Whitehall Wrestling · Viking Wrestlers Back Atop GMAA

The Whitehall wrestling team got back to its winning ways at the GMAA on Saturday at Reeths-Puffer.  The Vikes started with the Ravenna Bulldogs, winning by a score of 72-3.  Matt Goodrich defeated the D4, #4 ranked Bulldog in the match of the dual.

Next, the Vikings would dismantle Orchard View 72-11.

Nolan Taranko and Connor Young won huge matches in the final against the host team, RP, propelling the Vikings to a 42-21 GMAA championship.  In his return to the mat, Aiden Weiler  lost a one point heartbreaker to a state-ranked opponent. Additionally, Alec Pruett lost a close match in his return, helping the Vikings maintain their lead.

Whitehall functioned as a team with everyone doing his job unselfishly; this was a fantastic team effort.

This victory avenges last year’s second place finish, snapping a 14 year GMAA championship streak.

Nolan Taranko, Ty Whalen, Max Brown, Marco Moore, Connor Young, Jake Haynes, Ira Jenkins, and Shane Cook were undefeated on the day.  Max and Ira each picked up his 100th career win.