Boys Varsity Wrestling · Viking Wrestlers Win Conference Title

The Whitehall wrestling team won the West Michigan Conference championship in historic fashion, crowning 12 champions and 2 runners up.

The tournament was run in a round robin fashion, meaning each wrestler in each weight class squared off with every other wrestler in the bracket.  In close to 85 matches, the Vikings only lost two.  The team race wasn’t close; Whitehall scored 597 points while runner up Hart tallied 402.


Avery Jura, Aiden Weiler, Julian Pruett, Riley Buys, Max Brown, Nick Blanchard, Marco Moore, Connor Young, Kris Dowdell, Ira Jenkins, Kayleb Venema, and Jarean Sargent all won conference titles.  Jake Haynes dropped a decision to the number one ranked wrestler in division 4, and Shane Cook lost a close match in his final bout of the night.


The Vikings will travel to Reeths Puffer on Thursday where they will compete for a team district title.